Sunday, September 21, 2025

Helen Carroll - Togher Revisited

On Sunday 14th September 2025 , Billy O'Brien from Togher Historical Association met up with Helen van Lakum and her husband Paul who had flown over from San Roque , Spain for a holiday. This short article will highlight what effectively turned into a walk down memory lane.

Helen & Paul van Lakum
Lulu's at the Lough


Helen ( nee Carroll ) was born in the early 1950s and was brought up in a market garden on Pouladuff Road , which were prolific throughout Togher until the advent of local authority housing schemes in the 1960s. Compulsory purchase orders by Cork Corporation saw many market gardens wiped out without a trace. In later years she moved to Kilmurrriheen in Togher before finally emigrating to Spain where she still lives.

Helen van Lakum & Jim Hegarty in Spain
old neighbours from Pouladuff Road
 


After coffee and a quick chat in Lulu's cafe by the Lough , it was time for a leisurely stroll along Togher Road. Mention was made of a butcher's shop which was located on the corner of Glendalough Park facing the Lough and an old sweet shop known as Lough Stores sited a little further up into the entrance to Brookfield Lawn , both locations part of the Lough Parish / District. The butcher shop is still there run by P. O'Connell & Sons but the former corner shop is now a beauticians since the early 2010s.
 

Butcher shop facing the Lough
 

Former Lough Stores
as seen in 2009

Helen recalled two other houses from her youth. Across the road from the butcher shop on the corner of Togher Road was Hanley's house ( owner of the Garage near SuperValu ) which was the only house known to sport an advertising board! Its official postal address is No.1 Togher Road! The house was formally the home of the Harris' , a brother and sister who lived alone. Next to that was the old home of Jane Buckley , who now resides in Sycamore Place

No.1 Togher Road
Hanley's house


Jane Buckley's former home

Helen then paused at the entrance to Boston Park which was built circa 1950 by a builder who had returned from the United States hence the naming. The estate used up part of the Hegarty's land to complete the scheme. Helen was and is lifetime friends of the Hegarty siblings to this day. She often meets up with Jim Hegarty in Spain ( see photo above ).

Entrance to Boston Park

Next to come under the spotlight were the semi-detached abodes of the Cunninghams and Russells. Helen recalls that they owned the land to the right and kept a small dairy farm. She unwittingly left the gates open on one occasion as a youth only for the entire herd of cows to make their way out onto the main road!

Cunningham's & Russells homes
Site of dairy farm to right


Helen then spoke briefly about the old Crowley home which has been a Doctor's surgery since the 1980s. The building was originally two homes , with the Murphy's on the left and of course the Crowley's on the right. She then recalled the Garda station on Ardmanning Avenue which was manned from 1970 until 1983.

Old Crowleys home


Old Garda station
Ardmanning Avenue


Of course no visit to Togher would be complete without a stop off at the site of Vaunie Long's cake shop. This shop was famous throughout the 1960s and 1970s and was beloved of all Togher children including Adults! Helen recalls many couples had their wedding cakes made here! Sadly Vaunie ( a.k.a. Bawnie ) passed away a few years ago and the old cake shop was demolished to enlarge the car park nearby.


Vaunie Long's cake shop
circa 2009

A brief stop was made to view the only signage depicting Togher Road in all of Togher! This and the accompanying row of houses left and right of the entrance to Edward Walsh Road were built circa 1962.

Togher Road name sign


The group stopped near Togher Square to reminisce about the Hosfords and the old Kerry Yard which would have stood where the patch of green is now. Helen also made mention of the location of the Hosford house which was sited back from the road roughly halfway between the terraced house left of Togher Square.

 

Corner of Togher Square
old Kerry Yard

Site of Hosford house
 
 
Helen set off with Paul and Billy to Clashduv Road pointing out various locations from days past. One spot was particularly poignant in that it was the start of the old Summerstown Lane which lead out to the Heighties and the Bog

Location of Summerstown Lane 2025


Same location September 1968
 

It was a quick stroll down Clashduv Road to the Glasheen River which lives on in the memories of all Togher ex-pats. Along the way , the Mountain and the site of the old Five Star came up for discussion.


The Mountain off Hazel Road


Site of the old Five Star


The group finally landed at the bridge over the Glasheen River. This was erected in 1968 when the Clashduv Road was extended to connect up with the main Togher Road. While the river on the southern side has always been in view , the opposite side has always been overgrown and unseen. However now it is the reverse , with all vegetation cut back giving a view that hasn't been seen in many decades.

 
View from southern part of bridge
 

View from northern part of bridge
with waste water pipe


View of northern part of bridge from embankment
with Helen and Paul
 


The group next made its way into Clashduv Park. First order of business was a visit to the Togher Community Garden and its beautiful pond. And of course the main reason for the long walk - to pay respects at the Peace Park. Dedicated to the Hegarty sisters of Pouldauff Road for their sacrifice , courage and bravery during the War of Independence.

Entrance to Clashduv Park near Glasheen River


Togher Community Garden
Pride of Cork City Winners 2023


Pond at Togher Community Garden

 
Billy O'Brien - Togher Historical Association
Helen van Lakum ( nee Carroll )
Peace Park , Clashduv Road , Togher

Paul & Helen van Lakum
Peace Park , Clashduv Road , Togher
 
The best was saved for last as the group made its way out of Clashduv Park and onto Togher Road. It was here that the final visit of the day was made to the McCarthy house. The last market garden in all of Togher and still in family hands , it is an iconic part of Togher's past. Helen was visibly emotional as she told stories of her time here with her Aunt Peggy and her cousins Helen and Siobhan. She recounted how they would straddle the wall and loop rope around the pillars pretending to be riding on horses ( see photo below ). It was at this point that the group parted ways. A future visit is planned which will take in much more of Togher.


Helen outside McCarthy house on Togher Road
 

Helen resting at Clashduv Road


Acknowledgements :

Helen van Lakum ( nee Carroll )
Paul van Lakum
Lulu's at the Lough
Togher Community Garden
Peace Park Togher
Jim Hegarty
McCarthy Family

 

 

Sunday, August 24, 2025

International Bowling Championships 1977 - Togher

This article showcases a sporting event in Togher in the 1970s which was televised in the Irish Language. Stills from that broadcast are used to illustrate the day in question. A proud time for Togher in general and road bowling in particular.

Irish delegation at the Barrs
represented by Cork & Armagh


Teams at flag ceremony at the Barrs


Dutch bowling team flag at the Barrs club


West Germany flag at the Barrs


Spectators local and International
gathered at the Barrs 1977


In 1977 , Togher played host to the International Bowling Championships and was staged over three days from Saturday 21st March to Monday 23rd March. This famous event was organised by Bol Chumann na hEireann and was primarily initiated  on the grounds of St. Finbarrs G.A.A. club where the opening ceremony was performed with the raising of the National flags. Three Countries were involved , Ireland ( represented by Cork and Armagh ) , Germany and Holland. The visitors would use lighter wooden balls while the Irish used the 28 ounce metal ball.

Selection of bowls used in competition
Wooden and Iron varieties


The first event consisted of the German lofting competition held in an adjoining field. Many spectators witnessed the use of the " Ramp " or springboard for the very first time. It was followed by the Irish lofting competition. Different styles of playing were on display with the Holland team showing an underhand throw while the German team used a discus throwing technique.

German Competitor in Barrs field


International competitor in Barrs field


International competitor using the Ramp

Sunday morning was perhaps the most anxiously awaited part of the International Competition where the Germans went up against the locals including Denis Scully using the lighter wooden ball to Loft The Viaduct.

 

View from the Viaduct as
Spectators & Competitors wait below


Denis Scully lofting the Viaduct


International competitor lofting the Viaduct

Monday saw the competition come to a close with a road bowling score in the Ballinhassig area. Many more famous events would be seen in the Togher region in the intervening decades but this one will live on in local folklore.

1977 International Bowling Championships
The Barrs , Togher
Stills & Video : Courtesy CR Video Vaults

Thursday, July 31, 2025

Clashduff House - Landlords & Land - A History

A house once existed in Togher whose families between them have supplied 33 City Mayors , overseen a fee paying ice skating park ,  owned a quarry where the last casualties of the War of Independence were killed and has a rugby pitch in Ballincollig named after the husband of one of its descendants! This is the story of the various Landlords down though the Centuries...

Clashduff House & Lodge 1951
( Lodge fronting onto Togher Road )
 
 
Clashduff

**As with all townlands in Togher , it can be impossible to uncover the original inhabitants of Clashduff prior to written historical records. Suffice it to say , it was in the hands of the Ui Mhic Ceir for many centuries and through alliances and gifting of territory to the Vikings/Ostmen and eventually the Normans would ultimately make its way into the hands of the Goulds , the Frenchs , the Ellis' , the Hosfords and Cork Corporation.**


Map of South Liberties
Showing " Clashduffe "


Extract from Terrier showing valuation of land


The townland of Clashduff ( Clais Dubh - Black Hollow - so named from the bog ) was originally in the ownership of James Fitzstephen Gould and James Fitzdavid Gould as noted in the Acts for the Settlement of Ireland in 1652 . Originally of Norman stock , their lineage would most certainly date back to the Norman Invasion of Cork in 1177 or thereabouts. It also anciently contained the sub-townland of Glasheen which over the course of the last few centuries has become a separate suburb with its own national schools.

__________________________________________________________

GOULD

Coat of Arms


The name Gould as was the case with many others of Norman origin would have been shortened or spelt differently. The list below shows members of the family or branches thereof who supplied a staggering 30 Mayors of Cork City between 1443 and 1690. It is impossible to tie all members to Clashduff but it cannot be proven otherwise. If the case is true , then the Gould's settled in Togher in the early to mid 15th Century only leaving through the forceful taking of their land in the mid 17th Century , giving them an association with Clashduff of 200 years! Obviously they would have had a primary residence on their land but it is doubtful if it survived for over 500 years into the modern era. Any future landlord would very likely have demolished the original abode and constructed their own "  big house ".


Example of fashion in 1443


Becoming " more Irish than the Irish " themselves and Catholic to boot ( Old English ) , they like so many other " Papists " lost ownership of their lands and titles to Merchant Adventurers and Soldiers who were to be paid for services rendered during the Cromwellian Invasion of Ireland 1649 - 1653 by the forceful transfer of ownership to Crown Forces. The beneficiary of Clashduff was one Hanc Hamilton. In this case he simply acted as an absentee landlord and the Goulds now had to pay him rent for the use of their own land! It appears that they had severed all links with the townland circa 1690 by backing King James II. Following Cromwell's removal and the establishment of a Monarchy once more in England many Catholics had a portion of their land returned to them which was not subject to rent. However following the deposition of James II by William III and the defeat at the Battle of the Boyne in 1690 , all land was again returned to the emerging Protestant Ascendancy class which would endure well into the 20th Century.


Goulds - Mayors

The family , whether Clashduff based or further afield , secured the Mayoralty of Cork City a record breaking 30 times between 1443 and 1690. Note the change of name in 1615 to Gold and their fall from grace in 1690 , from which they were never to recover , fading from the political landscape forever. However , Griffith's Valuations of 1864 lists 66 families with the surname Gould , so they survived in some form or other since their halcyon days. Census records from 1901 and 1911 lists over 100 families in Cork bearing the name , so it still has a strong connection with Cork City to the present day.


1443 - Wm. Goold
1444 - Wm. Goold
1446 - John Goold
1448 - John Goold
1452 - John Goold
1463 - Wm. Goold
1464 - John Goold
1493 - Wm. Goold
1501 - Wm. Goold
1503 - Edmd. Goold
1510 - Ed. Goold
1522 - Richd. Goold
1524 - Ed. Goold
1531 - Richd. Goold
1534 - Jas. Goold
1544 - Jas. Goold
1545 - Richd. Goold     
1546 - Wm. Goold     
1547 - Wm. Goold
1559 - Ed. Goold
1567 - Ed. Goold
1577 - John Goold
1584 - Geo. Goold
1597 - Geo. Goold
1611 - Geo.Goold
1615 - Wm. Gold ( Name changes to Gold )
1618 - Wm. Gold
1625 - Henry Gold fitz Adam
1687 - Ignatius Gold ( Lost lands due to support of James II - Last Catholic to hold post until 1848 with election of William Lyons who was re-elected 1849 & knighted by Queen Victoria! )
1690 - Ignatius Gold ( appointed by James II - Contentious )

__________________________________________________________



FRENCH

Coat of Arms


It is unclear when the French family initially took ownership of the townland as many original Plantation owners would simply sell their spoils of war to the highest bidder , but it most  probably fell into their hands in the late 17th Century. In any event , the townland was in the possession of Savage Twogood Wynne French whose family line lived along Cork Harbor and owned many estates particularly in Little Island. Clashduff was leased to Edward French who acted as landlord. As mentioned below there were many branches of this family in the Cork harbor area prior to their arrival in Togher. By the mid 19th Century they seem to be overall owners of Clashduff and its sub-townland Glasheen. The road frontage with Togher Road was walled off save for a break at the entrance to Summerstown Lane and a lodge built at the North Eastern entrance to Clashduff House closed off by a large wooden door. The only main road access was on its North Western boundary with Glasheen Road ; a dirt track known as Borroway Lane ( now Tara Court , Hillside Road & Whitebeam Road ). Dairy farming would have been the mainstay of the family with additional income from their Osiery.


Example of fashion in late 17th Century


Mayors & Sheriffs

The family and branches thereof supplied no less than 3 members as Mayor of Cork City ; firstly in 1696 - James French ( a wine merchant who also had a quay in Cork City named after him! )  , followed by his two sons in 1715 - Philip French ( Previously served as a sheriff in 1712 ) and in 1717 - Abraham French ( who had also previously served as a sheriff ).



** It should be noted that Sean French who later became Lord Mayor a staggering 12 times ( 1925 - 1930 as a Sinn Fein member and again from 1933 until his death in office in 1937 as a Fianna Fail member ) was not related!


Clashduff House & The Bog

Clashduff House was built circa late 17th Century. A two story eight windowed building , sporting many bedrooms and a pantry and a dining room ,  it was for centuries the main residence of the French family who gave their name to the local bog. An Osiery lined the banks of the Glasheen River producing the raw materials for making basketware and other containers ( the plastic of its time ) back in the 19th Century.  This was not the only source of income for the French Family. It is on record that they dammed off the local Glasheen River in the mid 19th Century to flood the bog during winter to create an outdoor skating rink for the Ladies and Gentry who paid for the pleasure. Tar barrels were placed at strategic points around the frozen bog to light up the area during nightfall and torchlights were provided to aid the skaters as they carefully meandered their way around the ice. Entertainment was provided by musicians and hot food served from burning braziers with seating arranged for ladies to don their skating boots. The local people who could not afford the shilling would often congregate along the Heighty Lane to cajole on the participants until Mr. French had the whole area fenced off. At this point Mr. Edward Ellis was co-owner of the townland and was in cahoots with Mr. French viz a viz the sharing in profits from the ice skating scam! The Lough was the only source of skating for the poor of the time. It is noted that the French family severed links circa 1890 and Mr. Edward Ellis had complete control of Clashduff and the Bog . leaving many hundreds of Pounds in his will , money undoubtedly accrued from his icy venture! On their land was a small enclave of stone cottages arranged in a square compound known as the Kerry Yard with a duck pond inside its walls near the future Hosfords house. This housed seasonal farmhands and more permanent residents up to 1967!


Footpath marks the site of Clashduff House
 

Griffith's Valuation Map 1852
Showing plots of Clashduff townland
and parts of Deanrock in their ownership


Overlay map showing original locations of:
Lodge at right hand corner of Togher Square
Kerry Yard fronting off Togher Square
Note: Longs Farm on right hand side ( North )
& Bannon's House on left below entrance to Sycamore Place


Bannon's House ( Right ) 1961
Lodge & entrance to Clashduff further down
Long's Farm on left


Modern day site of Bannon's House

 
Togher Square
Right hand side entrance
Original site of Lodge and driveway to Clashduff House



Hosford House ( part of Kerry Yard ) 1968 prior to demolition


* 1968 - Note End of Earlwood Estate on right
and in background land leveled and cleared 
back to Summerstown Lane


Hosfords originally house located behind house on left
Remainder of terrace original location of Kerry Yard


Ardmanning Beg primary scheme under construction
Tree in foreground would survive until mid 1970s



Construction of Clashduv Road September 1968
Southernmost point of Hosfords farm


Same view of location above
Clashduv Road today

 __________________________________________________________



ELLIS

Coat of Arms


It is not recorded when the Ellis family exactly took ownership of Clashduff House and lands from the French family but it would most certainly have been towards the closing years of the 19th Century following the departure of Edward French in the 1890s. Edward Ellis was to die himself a few short years later in 1898. He was succeeded by his son of the same name who became head of the house despite his mother still being alive.

Census 1911 - Clashduff - Ellis family
* Note: Sarah Ellis who was the last occupant of Clashduff House


Census 1926 - Clashduff - Ellis family
& Trinder mother and Daughter


Edward Ellis - 2nd Entry
listing house as having 8 rooms

The Ellis family were staunch Protestants and their loyalties were to the old country ( England ) as evidenced by the will of Sarah Ellis in 1959. Circa 1920 , their Niece Martha Trinder and her daughter Annie a.k.a. Nancy moved from Skibbereen to live with them. All siblings having passed away in later years , she became the sole occupant ( see below ). Dying unmarried and childless , she left an estate valued at £13,050 granting probate to her niece Annie ( a.k.a. ) Trinder and her husband Henry W. Hosford. She bequeathed £500 to the St. Finbarrs Sustentation Fund£200 to the Home for Protestant Incurables , £200 to the Protestant Orphan Fund and £200 to the Buckingham House School.

The Ellis Quarry / Killings


The Ellis' ( Protestants originally from Dunmanway ) bought the former quarry north of Clashduff known as Egan's Quarry which had lain dormant for nearly 50 years in 1900.  In 1904 , a quarryman by the name of William Coughlan lost his right eye and suffered bad injuries to both hands when a charge of dynamite exploded unexpectedly. Stone was quarried to help steamroll the Togher and Pouladuff Roads in the early 1920s.

Ellis Quarry 1951

This quarry was infamous for 4 British soldiers being executed there and their bodies dumped where they fell for the Authorities to find them. It was in retaliation for the murder of Denis Spriggs on Blarney Road by crown forces. This was the last action of the War of Independence in 1921! Today Earlwood Estate occupies a portion of the old quarry site.

Bodies of British soldiers at Ellis Quarry 1921

__________________________________________________________


HOSFORD

The Hosfords originally entered Ireland during the Cromwellian Invasion of the 1640s and peopled much of West Cork , particularly Skibbereen. However , different branches of the family would have made incursions nearer Cork City as the Centuries wore on. Not all are related but a common thread is their English/Welsh lineage and adherence to the Anglican faith , in this instance the Church of Ireland.

Coat of Arms

Henry W "Harry" Hosford ( known locally for his fondness of brown tweed ) through his wife Annie ( a.k.a. Nancy ) Trinder inherited Clashduff House and lands when her aunt , Mary Sarah Ellis passed away in 1959 at the age of 87 leaving everything in her will to her niece. As was the custom at the time , her husband was the legal beneficiary. Nancy was a qualified Chemist and the couple had two children , Henry and Meryl. They continued to operate the farm as a a dairy concern and chose to live in a bungalow near the Kerry Yard leaving Clashduff House unoccupied. They also cultivated cash crops such as potatoes and cabbage. Many local girls found employment there where they would be paid a tanner a drill ( one long raised ridge the length of a ploughed field! ) for tilling potatoes. Some locals would venture onto the land through a gap in the wall near Bannons house to secure a head of cabbage. The entrance to Clashduff House & lands was secured by two large 6ft high steel gates. ( located to the right of Togher Square - see photo above ).

The Bog & The Heighties 1951


At some point in the 1960s , Harry Hosford had ownership of the Heighties . a disused quarry in Deanrock which saw service as a turf depot during the Emergency ( World War II ). He had it back-filled with soil in preparation for selling on to the Corporation for a planned housing estate. However . the Corporation also had designs on all of the Hosford land and in 1967 , that is just what happened! Following the issue of the compulsory Purchase Order by Cork Corporation , the Hosfords had purchased a dairy farm in Ovens and had their cattle transported some weeks later. However one morning without warning they were surprised to find the builders outside on the Togher Road ready to move onto the land. They were given moments to pack their belongings and remove themselves to the main Togher Road. The builders lost no time in tearing down the old stone wall which had fronted onto Togher Road for many centuries! Over the course of the next few days , Clashduff House was demolished and bulldozed over to the nearby Bog. Soon any remaining buildings were also torn down and work commenced on the new Ardmanning Beg scheme.

The Heighties backfilled in early 1960s

__________________________________________________________


Aftermath

The Hosfords relocated to Athnowen , Lisheens , Ovens and bought a small dairy farm. The son Henry soon took over the running of the farm. Merle later married a local wealthy farmer by the name of Tanner. After his death , she inherited the farm. However , the shadow of compulsory purchase followed her even here. Most of the land went to housing development schemes and the creation of a rugby grounds called appropriately enough Tanner Park in honour of the lands former owner. She moved to Aglish , Coachford where she operated a dairy farm. Sadly , she passed away some years ago. She is buried in St. Peter's Church of Ireland cemetery , Carrigrohane. She is survived by her son Shane who still farms locally. The Blog had the pleasure of meeting him in person in 2026 due in no small part to Mrs. A. Hosford ( nee Odlum ).

Hosford's farm
Lisheens ,  Athnowen , Ovens



Tanner Park , Ballincollig
Named in honour of Meryl's husband


Merle Tanner ( nee Hosford )
daughter of Martha Trinder
Born : Hosford's Farm , Togher Road


**************************************

Acknowledgements:

Mrs. A. Hosford ( nee Odlum )
Richard Henchion
Tom O'Keeffe
Shane Tanner