The original location of the Forge ( as shown below ) was north west of the present day Lane's Cottage , which would have placed it at the entrance to the modern day Centra shop. However , following major works carried out by the Sarsfield family in the late 19th Century , the Forge after 250 years of service was deconstructed and moved across the road near the present day Lane's Cottage. It should be noted here that the original school ( built approximately 1820 ) was demolished including the old Lodge which was built anew and fronted onto the main road and thankfully still stands to this day.
Note : Horseshoe symbol indicating location
Footpath entrance to shop
Following on from the widening of the entrance to the Sarsfield estate and the relocation of the Forge , Michael Sheahan ( see below ) takes up tenancy of the new Forge. He is listed in Griffiths Valuations for 1847 as the occupier and also leased out a small cottage behind the Forge both of which combined had an estimated value of £2.10s! Fifty years later and both John " Sean " Riordan and his brother Michael are the blacksmiths. Their younger brother is a carpenter. They live with their mother Hannah a Widow. The siblings father and grandfather before them were blacksmiths and worked elsewhere. The 1911 Census sees the younger Blacksmith gone , possibly married and their mother deceased. Many years later John would sublet it to Jack Keating - the last blacksmith to work the Forge. During the 1950s , the bus would use Togher Cross as its terminus and the driver and his conductor were known to visit the Forge and try their luck on the anvil. It was also a place for locals to catch up on gossip while the blacksmith repaired various farming implements. The building itself only had one entrance and a small window to let in light. The fire used to heat the steel was located two feet off the ground as you went in on your left with various tools hung from nails on the wall. The anvil was located in the centre next to a barrel full of water for cooling newly beaten horseshoes , slash-hooks and whatever else his customers required. The fires flue went directly up though a wooden roof which had to be repaired almost annually. However due to ill health and modern machinery , Jack Keating gave up the Forge in 1962 where it was used as a storage shed by the owner of the entire site , Maxi Lane ( who purchased it from the Sarsfields in the 1940s ).
Michael Sheehan - Blacksmith ( underlined in red )
The Forge was finally demolished in 1968 by the owner Maxie Lane. The stones were recycled into a low garden wall in Feirm Bawn by Mrs. " Lady " Harris , a short distance from its original location. However even that repurposed wall was demolished along with the rest of Feirm Bawn in 2016. The last ties to the Forge were now gone forever!
New Lodge located to front of road
" Smithy " located on Barry land
Anthony Lane
John Dennehy
Damian Murphy N.I.A.H.

















































