On Thursday May 9th 2019 , the extended family of Joe Murphy gathered by invitation at City Hall , Cork City for a very special presentation. After many years of campaigning and research the family of the late Joe Murphy headed by Shirley Kelleher were finally awarded the 1917 - 1921 Service Medal with Bar ( for active service ) on behalf of their famous relative who died on hunger strike in 1920.
Joe Murphy 1895 - 1920
Almost a Century after the tragic event , Lord Mayor Mick Finn posthumously awarded the medal to Henry Delaney ( Joe's Nephew ). The Medal was presented on a green velvet cushion and was graciously accepted by the Family members. Shirley Kelleher delivered the keynote acceptance speech as she was joined by family members worldwide for the special occasion. Also present were members of the Togher Historical Association who hope to reawaken the ghost of Togher's forgotten hero to the general public.
Lord Mayor Mick Finn awarding the Medal to Henry Delaney
Henry Delaney and daughter Shirley Kelleher
Shirley Delaney & T.D. Donnchadh O'Laoraigh
Togher Historical Association
with Henry Delaney
Henry Delaney with Dignitaries at City Hall
Shirley Kelleher acceptance speech
The description of the Medal is as follows: A circular medal approximately one and three fifth inches in
diameter bearing on the obverse the Arm of the Four Provinces of
Ireland. In the centre appears a standing figure , facing front ,
depicting a Volunteer , a member of a guerrilla force – termed “ Flying
Column ” – of the period 1917 – 1922 in typical dress ( trench coat and
cap with rifle , revolver and bandoleer ). The word “EIRE” ( meaning
Ireland ) appears horizontally across the centre of the medal in large
letters ( two either side of the figure ). The words “ Cogadh na Saoirse ”
which are translated “ The Fight For Freedom ” appear below. The Bar which is fitted across the ribbon , equal parts black and tan , is " Comrac " which means " Struggle ".
Medal showing front side
Medal showing reverse side
Another surprise lay in store when the Family were given a special presentation of the Defence Forces Medal which is extremely rare and coveted. This was awarded by the Chief of Staff of the Defence Forces Rear Admiral Mellet who also posed for photographs.
On Monday Afternoon 22nd April 2019 the Togher Historical Association paid a visit to the home of Shirley Kelleher and family to discuss future plans to celebrate the life of one of Togher's forgotten heroes - Joe Murphy. Following the official awarding of the War of Independence Medal to the Kelleher family on behalf of the Delaney and Murphy families and indeed all descendants of Joe Murphy in May 2019 , it is hoped to organize a parade from Joe Murphy House along Pouladuff Road and down Tramore Road ( formally Hangdog Road ) and over Togher Overpass to Togher Community Centre , once Joe's school. This would have been the route the young Joe would have taken to his school and so it is felt appropriate to recreate his journey over a Century ago to honour his memory.
Louise Kelleher & Shirley Kelleher
Great Grand Niece & Grand Niece of Joe Murphy
Shirley Kelleher and her daughter Louise were presented with a beautiful portrait of Joe Murphy by the Ballyphehane 1916 Committee showcasing the road named in his honour many years ago. A similar naming ceremony is proposed for the Togher district. It is hoped that funding can be secured for the Centenary celebrations and a combination of Ballyphehane and Togher input considered to highlight the various events planned. Indeed it is also suggested that Togher itself will put forward projects of their own accord.
The Boy From Pouladuff
It is also hoped that local residents in Togher
would become involved in the setting up of a Committee to assist in
further projects next year to celebrate the Centenary of Joe Murphy's
death. A leaflet drop is also proposed to garner interest and galvanize
the Togher
community at large into recognizing one of its Heroes. Other side
projects include the erection of a plaque on the wall of the Community
Centre ( old Togher
School ) heralding one of its most famous students. Above are shown the
lyrics to The Boy From Pouladuff written by John Murphy and sung by
Louise Kelleher outside Joe Murphy house during Easter Weekend.
On Saturday April 20th 2019 , the Ballyphehane 1916/2016 Committee hosted their Annual Easter Rising Parade which commenced outside Joe Murphy House , Pouladuff Road , Togher. Aaron O'Connell gave an oration outside the house after which the Parade formally began. In attendance were various groups including the Ballyphehane Pipe Band and special guests James Connolly Drum & Flute Band from Glasgow. Deputy Lord Mayor Thomas Moloney from Elm Road , Togher participated in the parade acting as Banner holder. Shirley Kelleher also gave a speech outside the home of her Grand Uncle while her daughter sang The Boy From Pouladuff composed by John Murphy. These two pieces will form part of a documentary on Joe Murphy's life in the near future. The Blog would like to thank the Ballyphehane 1916 Committee and Shirley Kelleher for the photos and video of the event.
In April , households outside Cork City were posted an information leaflet from Cork City Council outlining the new boundary extension which will come into force on May 31st 2019. It also detailed the transfer of services to the new City Council. The shots below show the leaflet in its entirety. Also included is a full map of the City showing the original boundary and the new extension. In addition , the Blog has zoomed in on the Togher area in general. What can be discerned so far is that Knockalisheen is excluded. Further study on the exact border will need to be undertaken in the near future. However as in the past , any areas of Togher not included in the new Boundary are very much still a part of Togher district.
Cover of leaflet
Interior spread view of leaflet
Back spread view of leaflet
Open view of interior boundary map
Close up view of Togher area affected by Boundary
Preliminary examination of the new Boundary Extension as it pertains to Togher shows that 3 Townlands are still , either partly or wholly in the County. Moving in a southerly direction , Chetwynd is effectively halved - using Maher's Lane as the border between City and County ; Knocknamallavoge and Knockalisheen remain in the County in their entirety. The boundary which skirts these Townlands continues down to Cros na Croha to take in all remaining former County Townlands of Togher including Doughcloyne , Gortagoulane and Lehenaghmore.
On Saturday 13th April 2019 , the Togher Historical Association were invited to the official opening of the Ballyphehane Digital Historical Pod in Tory Top Library which began at 11 O'Clock and continued for an hour and a half. During the event those attending were shown aspects of local history which also included a section on Togher which showcased its own 1916 commemorations at the Community Centre and promoted the Togher Historical Association. Eamonn Pearse and Kathleen O'Keeffe represented the group and were impressed by the work which went into the whole project.
Kathleen O'Keeffe at Hub Opening
The Historical Pod was compiled by the Ballyphehane 1916/2016 Commemoration Committee and covers many related topics including the heroes of the War of Independence and the region before 1946 when the various housing schemes were first constructed. The digital pod is very user friendly and highly recommended for anybody with even a passing interest in local history and heritage.
Electronic Interactive Hub
The following shots highlight the entries for the blog of the Togher Historical Association as seen on the digital hub. Opening hours for the Tory Top library are Tuesday to Saturday 10.00 a.m. - 5.30 p.m., with later closing at 8:00 p.m. on Tuesdays (September to June). The Library is closed on bank holiday weekends (Saturday to Monday inclusive). The blog would like to thank Kieran O'Connell for his kind invitation and for his continued support over the last few years.
On Friday 5th April 2019 the Togher Historical Association were invited to the official reopening of the Fellowship House campus off Doughcloyne Hill in Togher. The culmination of two years of extensive work has resulted in a beautiful facility which caters for addiction recovery and support. Finbarr Cassidy who was instrumental in the planning and evolution of the project and who also gave sterling support to the organisation since its foundation in 1989 sadly passed away recently. He was mentioned by all present for his outstanding contribution in this field.
Finbarr Cassidy R.I.P.
Manager Fellowship House
To mark the 30th Anniversary since its founding , the staff and invited guests performed a tree planting ceremony in the grounds near the replica Phillipine House , the original which regretfully had to be demolished due to age and decay. John Dennehy of Westside Estate was at hand to partake in the event with Eamonn Pearse videoing the whole affair which is available below.
Management & Dignatories pose with placue
Newly rebuilt Fellowship House Togher
Beautifully planted grounds inside former orchard
Staff & Management prepare for tree planting ceremony
Tree Planting Ceremony Fellowship House Togher
Simon Coveney gave the opening address inside the new build in which he spoke about various social issues which impacted on those suffering from addiction issues. Ciaran O'Driscoll , staff member , videod the entire speech , which is available for viewing below.
On Saturday 25th February 2019 , the Togher Historical Association paid a visit to the home of Bryan and Anne Murphy in Deanvale off Togher Road. Bryan and Anne shared their memories and stories of bygone days in Togher. What unfolded was a trip back through time to unearth a section of Togher Road which sadly is no more.
Murphy Houses on Togher Road
Mary Murphy ( House on left )
Michael Murphy ( House on right ) seen in doorway
Bryan Murphy's family have a legacy in Togher going back centuries , primarily as Market Gardeners.The earliest historical entry following subsequent research by the Historical Association which mentions the Murphy family is in 1833 where a Michael Murphy is stated as living in the Townland of Deanrock. Later still , a Timothy Murphy appears in 1850 as part of Griffith's Evaluations.The 1901 Census reveals a Timothy Murphy as one of the occupants of the Cottages.Previously the Cottages were subdivided into four small homes between Margaret Brien , Simon Leary and Michael Canty in addition to the Murphys ; however by the 1920s they had become the sole occupancy of the Murphy family along with 2 acres of land to the rear of their holding. Michael Murphy , father of Bryan Murphy was born in 1921 and by the time he married in the 1940s , he and his sister Mary had become the owners of the " Long " Cottage which they divided into two homes. Bryan Murphy was born in 1948 and grew up in the Murphy household with his three siblings Teddy ( known as Togher Ted ) , Peggy and Kay. Bryans father grew ill as the years passed and the market garden fell out of use. In his heyday , Michael Murphy was known as the Ceili King due to his work as M.C. for platform dancing events.
Togher Ted & brother Bryan Murphy
with Barry & Mary Cremin at side of Cottage 20th March 1951
Bryan Murphy with his Cousin Terri Desmond ( R.I.P. ) Nuns Walk
Bryan Murphy - Confirmation late 1950s
All of the Murphy household attended Togher National School and except for Peggy who moved to England , still live locally. In fact both Bryan and his Sister Kay now live on the former site of their Market Garden , the land being sold off in the early 1980s and their original home , then beyond repair , being demolished. Bryan and his wife Anne are accomplished bowlers as members of the Barrs Bowling Club.
Bryan Murphy with Tom McCabe & Danny Dineen 1970s
Barry Lynch , Micky Daly , Bryan Murphy 1980s
Barrs Bowlers Hall of Fame trophy
Bryan reminisced about his former neighbours and their homes , most of which are now sadly gone:
Jim and Julia Sullivan lived in the house left of the Murphy cottages where Deanwood Avenue would later be built .They had three children - Jim , Donie and Jer ( ambulance driver ). They later moved to Pouladuff Road.
Jane , Thomas , Gerome and Pearl Riordan ( who married Charlie Hipwell from Tramore Road ) lived in Carmelville ( listed building ). Just beyond their house where Vicars Road is now situated was a water handle pump which vanished when work commenced on the new road.
Pata Cronin and Bunny ( Jack Roberts used come over from Turners Cross to till the garden ) lived in the next bungalow demolished in the early 1980s. The photo below shows their corner bungalow in 1972 during the opening of Vicar's Road. They and Bryans father and Seanie O'Brien ( who lived next door to the McCarthy house ) were all market gardeners.
Bryan also made mention of Hosford's who ran a Dairy Farm where the " Mountain " and Lidl is. He remarked how Mr. Hosford always wore a tweed 3-piece suit and a hat. The laneway which came in off Togher Road lead past his Bungalow and into the big farmyard where Clashduff House was situated.
On Thursday afternoon 6th December 2018 , the Togher Historical Association paid a visit to the home of Mrs. Frances Dalton on Togher Road. She was joined by her daughter Sandra and for the next hour took the team on a trip down memory lane to a Togher now long gone. Their house is named after the two siblings Sandra and Ray , hence San-Ray. It is part of a privately built section of Togher Road between Edward Walsh Road and Rose Lawn comprised of two Dutch Bungalows with four additional one storey bungalows. The other part of the privately sold plots comprises the part of Ardmanning Hill between the Russell House and the corner of Edward Walsh Road.
Dalton house on Togher Road
Originally the Dalton family lived on Father Matthew Street in Cork City. Ironically their neighbor Mrs. Healy who hailed from Gurranabraher was soon to become the same again in Togher. A private building scheme was enacted for a section of Togher Road on land formally owned by Paddy Long and known as Togher Farm. This stretched from the Russell house on Ardmanning Hill down to the now entrance to Rose Lawn ( built in 1965 ). The
Corporation gave tradesmen the option of buying a site with a 3% down
payment of the overall asking price which had to be paid back in 10 to
12 years. This translated into £7 a month. If the mortgage was repaid
earlier than this a sum of money as a bonus was paid back. So it was that the Daltons ( Carpenters ) and the Healys ( Electricians ) built their two homes together based on plans submitted to an Architect. All of the adjoining sites were quickly sold off and soon buildings of radically different designs appeared on the landscape. Frances hailed originally from Vicars Street and went to St Mary's of the Isle school and later worked in O'Gormans hat factory in Shandon. Her Husband Charlie Dalton was from Tower Street and was a qualified Carpenter later becoming a Joiner.
Mrs. Dalton Togher Road 1962 to present
Togher in 1962 was undergoing rapid change and the Dalton's were witness to it all. When they first arrived , there was no Edward Walsh Road or Vicar's Road. Ardmanning Cottages ( which occupied the road frontage from the now corner of Rose Lawn up as far as the now turn off onto Vicar's Road ) were their immediate neighbours with the Kerry Yard and Hosford's Farm directly across the road from them. Sandra celebrated her first birthday in her new home soon after settling in. Both children attended Togher National Schools , with Ray attending the old school while Sandra later went to the new Girls school which had been built in 1961. One of Mrs. Dalton's earliest memories is of Mr. Kelly , Principal of the boy's school scouting for pupils and knocking on her door inquiring about the children's ages. When told that Ray was only three years old , he asked her to quickly register him for school. This was an informal affair with the stipulation that the child bring with him the following , a pencil and jotter , milk and a slice of bread. Ray had Ted O'Sullivan as teacher from Junior Infants right up to 6th Class! Mrs. Dalton recalls the radical difference between the two schools. The boys had no running water and dry toilets whilst the girls had tapped water and flush toilets including radiators. The younger boys were sent out to gather firewood for the stove and the older boys collected water from the pump located outside the school wall which was handed back in a train of hands to be emptied into the cisterns which they had to fill on a daily basis. Children from Lehenaghmore would bring fresh milk to the school for
lunch and they would toast bread on the fire stove. The original two rooms of the school were later divided
into three smaller rooms due to the high number of children now attending. Playtime after school for local children on Togher Road was a trip down Summerstown Lane to the Heighties after which they would return wearing daisy chains.
Ardmanning Cottages 1962 located right of San Ray
Frances mentioned that back in 1962 , Edward Walsh Road and Vicar's Road did not yet exist so access to Pouladuff Road was by either Pearse Road or Tramore Road. She remembers a neighbour from Ardmanning Cottages named John Buckley. She has many memories of Henry Hosford ( who lived on the opposite side of the road behind a high stone wall ) and his family including Mrs. Hosford carrying heavy crates of milk down the laneway to the roadside for collection. She also recalls the time when the land was sold and the Hosfords were leaving their former home. They were literally left on the roadside while trucks arrived to take away the cattle and the old house and walls were demolished in little or no time. The remaining buildings on the land , including Clashduff House , the Kerry Yard - a small compound of stone houses - Bannion's and other smaller buildings were knocked soon after. Frances recalls that the Corporation brought in a French explosives expert to blow up the Mountain ( rocky outcrop on Hazel Road ) but that he gave up after several failed attempts! Mrs. Dalton also officially clarified the anomaly that is the triangular section of road which tapers off from Rose Lawn entrance ( see photo below ). Ardmanning Cottages which were finally removed circa 1970 and were sited to the right side of entrance to Rose Lawn prevented the widening of Togher Road towards Carmelville House. However by the time of the removal , the developers decided to cancel the road widening and a green with footpath was set down instead.
Togher Road 1967 view across from San Ray
Ray & Sandra at Nan's house in Tory Top Road , 1960s
Immediately work began on the new housing schemes which lasted up to 1971. The scheme went under the name of Ardmanning Beg and as soon as a terrace was finished new residents arrived to fill them. Such was the demand for housing , that families were living in a virtual building site , as the Direct Labour unit of Cork Corporation forged ahead with erecting homes as quickly as possible. Frances remembers Togher Square ( began in 1968 and finished the following year ) was originally meant to be three rows of terraced houses but due to the high demand for accommodation , the Corporation decided to include maisonettes ( ground floor units with two story units and balcony above them ). A row of one bedroomed apartments were constructed at the entrance to Sycamore Place for senior citizens living on their own.
Togher Road 1968 view across road from Rose Lawn
Frances recalls a Priest in Lough Church approaching her to ask her to join a
committee to collect money for a new church in Togher. Mrs Healy , her
next door neighbour went through her phone book to ask factories and
businesses for donations. Mrs Dalton was given the task of calling to
neighbours from Ardmanning Hill down to Rose Lawn for donations. A
shilling per household was the going rate. Charlie managed to acquire the hall in City Hall
free of charge for a bazaar. The gentry and Corporation officials in
robes arrived and around £4,000 was collected from them that day! She
also recalls how Fr. O'Connor would have all the women in Togher Square
go out and sweep the square to have it clean for mass on Sunday! Frances recounts how her husband Charlie worked on many Grottos around Togher. She remembers there used to be an old grotto next to Murphy's at end of Manning's Lane , the statue later being reused for the new grotto in Deanrock Estate ( see below ). Charlie
later built a grotto off Edward Walsh Road plus one off Marieville. Mrs Dalton used to joke he
would become the next Pope or that he was going around thinking he was St. Peter.
Grotto in Marieville Togher
Grotto ( a.k.a. Devils' Rock ) under construction in 1988 in Deanrock
Sandra Dalton was chairwoman of the Teenage club when she was 16 or 17 ( roughly 1978 ). The Teenage clubhouse became known as the " snot in the bog " due to its timber being painted in green. She recalls how Fr. Hodnett went off to Lourdes and gave instructions
that the Teenage club was to be closed while he was away. However Fr.
Daly was unaware and a disco was held for the children of Between. He was
not happy when he came back! A sculpted wooden hand was presented to Togher Teenage
club by lord mayor Paudie Black in 1981 as acknowledgement of their fundraising
efforts for various charities which Sandra proudly displays in her home. Togher Teenage club gave money to buy the first four
beds for Marymount hospice. Many years later following Fr. Hodnett's departure from the Parish, the Togher Teenage club presented him with a placue. Following his death a few years ago , the placue was discovered amongst his effects and offered to Sandra.
Sandra Dalton with 1982 Fundraising Award for Teenage Club
Remnants of Ardmanning Cottages circa 1970
shortly before demolition
In 2019 , Sandra travelled to South America with her family to meet her brother Ray who had settled there many years previously. This entailed a surprise visit arranged beforehand and was captured on video ( see below ) by her daughter Megan for posterity. Ray trained to be a priest at St. Patrick's College in Maynooth but later left and now lives in South America. Sandra is a professional hairdresser.
Ray Dalton during his time as a Priest
Sandra Dalton
Sandra and her brother Ray in South America 2019
Togher Historical Association would like to thank the Dalton family for sharing their memories of Togher which now spans almost 60 years and for giving an insight into a Togher which now seems so distant but for also enlightening people on an ever changing landscape.