Sunday, September 11, 2022

O'Brien's Cottage Old School House Togher Road Cork

 

O'Briens Cottage with Munitir na Tire
& Old Army pillbox in the background

A cottage which once existed across from Togher National Schools had a long and close history with the area and education in particular. A rental property on land once owned by the Goods then in the 1930s passing to the Ryans , its next door neighbour was the Muintir na Tire , itself an important part of the social structure of Togher for many years. Many families would make the cottage their home from the 19th Century onwards such as the Crowleys who lived there from the turn of the Century up to the early 1930s but it was the O'Brien family who were most associated with the building and Mrs Ellen ( Nellie ) O'Brien in particular.


Mrs. Ellen O'Brien
at half door of her cottage


Ellen was born in Lehenaghmore and attended Togher National School as a child. She would go on to marry William O'Brien ( or Bill as she called him ) who came from Gillahugh Cottage on Fort Street near St. Finbarr’s Cathedral in Cork City. They would have moved into the ‘ Old School House ’ Cottage when they got married circa 1935/6. William was a van driver for M Laundries in Blackpool and Nellie worked in Pines Bar on the Kinsale road ( now it’s Bull McCabes ). They also kept a chicken coup in their back garden. William & Nellie raised 5 children in the Cottage -  John, Helen, Henry, Anthony and Marie. All would attend the national school across the road ( now Community Centre ). Nellie O'Brien , herself a past pupil of Togher National School would go on to become caretaker and is fondly remembered by all pupils who would chat to her at her half door.
 
 
William & Ellie O'Brien
in the back garden of their cottage
 
 
William was a keen book lover , singer and loved sketching the landscape and animals. Ellen loved being surrounded by animals; chickens , rabbits , dogs and cats. She enjoyed growing produce in her small vegetable patch , playing cards , ( 45 especially ) and also took great pleasure in crafting various things with seashells and other materials. Pictured below are just a few of her creations: the first of three cottages that Ellen created and which always held pride of place on the front window of their own cottage home , grottos for The Sacred Heart and Our Lady along with the clock that was presented to her when she retired after over 30 years of being the Caretaker in Togher National Schools - all now gracing her Granddaughters home - ( the clock is still keeping time ). 

 
Ellen O'Brien's clock and grottos

 
William with first born son John
 
 
Ellen O'Brien with son John
 
 
William O'Brien with first born daughter Helen

 
John at back of Cottage
 
 
John & Helen playing in chicken coup
 

 
William with children - Henry ( in arms )
Helen and John ( sitting )
 
 
John O'Brien
 
 
Helen O'Brien

 

Henry O'Brien
 
 
Henry - Communion 1950
 

 
Their neighbours adjoining them were: a lady called Moggie - the Coakley family - and the Roche Family and then Muintir Na Tire. Straight across the road from the cottage around that time there was a corn field. During the Emergency ( WW2 ) it became a turf depot for wartime supplies of fuel. It is thought a market garden was also there at one point. 
 
 
William O'Brien with son Anthony ( on lap )
with Helen ( sitting )
 

Anthony & Marie O'Brien
taken at the rear of cottage close to
where the Cronin family had their horse stables
 
 
Anthony near chicken coup
at the back of the cottage
 
 
William O'Brien with son Anthony 
& daughter Marie at the back of the cottage


 

William O'Brien with his daughter Helen 
& son Anthony
in the back garden of the cottage
 
 
Helen & sister Marie O'Brien

 
Marie , " Spot " the dog & boys fishing off wall near stream
next to the cottage


Anthony & Marie with Aunt Betty 
( Ellen O'Brien's younger sister ) 
home from England
Field opposite the cottage with workers
( Men unknown )

 
Ellen & William
with son Anthony

 
Marie O'Brien with her father William

 
Ellen with children Anthony 
& Marie ( sat on ground )
 
 
Brother Rudolf  S.M.A. with Anthony
outside old Army Pillbox


Anthony and one of his childhood friends
 outside the cottage


Annual flood in 1947
O'Brien's cottage painted in lime white wash
( photo supplied by the late Ronnie Herlihy )

 
Ellen O'Brien with her daughter Marie
on her Confirmation day

 

John ( eldest Brother ) 
with Marie ( youngest Sister )
in the back garden of the cottage
 
 
Ellen ( Nellie ) O'Brien
in the back garden with just one of 
her beloved animals


William with grandchildren 
Helena & Marie ( Helen's children )
 
 
Ellen with her grandchildren
Martin , Helena ( pram ) & Marie
( Helen's children )

 

Mrs. O’Brien pictured at a presentation on her retirement 
as school caretaker after over 30 years
Below cites the write-up in the local newsletter at the time

 
 
 " On Tuesday, 22nd November 1983, a very pleasant function took place in the Assembly Hall of Scoil An tAthair Maitiu , Togher National Schools , when Very Rev. John Shorten P.P. made a presentation to Mrs. Nellie O’Brien who had been caretaker of Togher National Schools for more than three decades. The presentation was made on behalf of the teachers and Board of Management of both schools.  While caretaker was the official title bestowed on Mrs. O’Brien , her tasks were as varied as the colours of Joseph’s coat and each was carried out with such grace and charm that they blended together like the colours of the rainbow on a Summer’s Day.  It was only as each speaker told what Mrs. O’Brien meant to him/her that one realized just how much she has done for the pupils and teachers of Togher over the years. God Bless you Mrs.O’Brien, may your retirement be a long , happy and healthy one. Note: While Mrs. O’Brien now lives in the building which housed the first Primary School in Togher she has seen the schools in Togher grow from a 2 roomed school with 2 teachers to the present 36 roomed building with 36 teachers and 900 pupils (Boys and Girls), two full time caretakers and a full time secretary. " 
 
 
Mrs O'Brien in later years
 

 
O'Brien's  Old School House Cottage prior to it's demolition
 
 
Sadly William died in 1976 and Nellie died in 1992 and the cottage was regrettably knocked down in the early 2000’s , it's close neighbour , the Muintir na Tire and the old Army Pillbox had already seen the wrecking ball many years earlier.
 
____________________________________________
 
 
***The blog would like to thank Mrs. Helen Cogan ( nee O’Brien - eldest daughter of William and Ellen O’Brien ) for her fantastic contribution to this article. ***

Sunday, August 7, 2022

Cumann na mBan - Togher 1916~ 1925

 


Introduction

Cumann na mBan ; literally "The Women's Council" was an Irish republican women's paramilitary organisation formed in Dublin on 2 April 1914 and in 1916 , it became an auxiliary of the Irish Volunteers. Although it was otherwise an independent organisation , its executive was subordinate to that of the Irish Volunteers, and later, the Irish Republican Army. Some members of Cumann na mBan were also members of the Citizen Army and as such were armed combatants in the Rising.


2nd April 1914 original poster

On 23 April 1916, when the Military Council of the Irish Republican Brotherhood finalized arrangements for the Easter Rising, it integrated Cumann na mBan, along with the Irish Volunteers and Irish Citizen Army, into the 'Army of the Irish Republic'.

 



The Cumann na mBan badge ( shown at top ) came into use in or around 1915 and most were made from white metal, with a number struck in silver. A few were struck in gold and these are thought to have been for senior officers such as Constance Markievicz. The uniform ( see above ) was a homemade green tweed worn with a Sam Browne belt and slouch hat. Though as hostilities commenced , the uniform would be dispensed with and civilian attire worn to avoid detection. The uniform would on occassion be worn at guards of honour at funerals , etc. Some women posed for photographs wearing the traditional Celtic dress and Cumann na mBan brooch ( See Ms. Cunningham below )

Cumann na mBan flag

The majority of the women during the Easter Rising worked as Red Cross workers, couriers or procured rations for the men. Members also gathered intelligence on scouting expeditions, carried dispatches and transferred arms from dumps across the city to insurgent strongholds. Above is the flag of the organisation , with Cumann na mBan abbreviated as Cna mB surmounted on a rifle with a blue background.

Togher - Lehenagh Branch

Cumann na mBan as an organisation was broken down into District Councils which comprised of several branches. Cork City District Council included the following branches: Cork , Dublin Pike , Terence McSwiney , Douglas  , Shandon  , Tomás Ceannt , Craobh Poblachta na hEireann , St. Finbarr’s , Thomas MacCurtain and Lehenagh. Lehenagh Branch was mostly made up of Togher women being named after one of its Townlands. Eventually Cork City District Council would comprise almost 17 branches.  Many of the women were in their teens and early 20s , and their duties included drilling , collecting funds , transporting weapons and intelligence gathering. Below are just 3 of the women from Togher who were part of the Lehenagh Branch; Mary Forde and Nan Fennell ( nee Hegartys ) from The Laurels on Pouladuff Road and Ms. Cunningham from Togher Road.


Mamie Forde
 
 
Nan Fennel

 

Ms. Cunningham , Togher Road

They were on active duty throughout the War of Independence and partook in arms smuggling , dispatches not only in the Cork area but further afield and assistance during raids on R.I.C. barracks. They would also offer prison relief committees when on one occasion , Mamie and Nan attended to fellow Togher man Joe Murphy during his last days , with their brother John Joe taking care of the funeral arrangements. Lehenagh branch decided to support the anti-Treaty side in the Civil War and carried on their usual tasks only this time against the Free State. Cumann an mBan were declared an illegal organisation by the government of the Irish Free State in 1923 and were officially banned by 1925.


Lehangh Branch
Members list

On 11th July 1921 , Lehenagh Branch had 14 members ( list shown above ) but by 1st July 1922 had only 2 remaining. It is thought that by 1925 its presence in Togher had completely petered out. However in the time between their formation and their eventual demise they had shown qualities of leadership , courage and bravery with many of them going on to receive pensions and combat medals.

******************************
 

Niall Kelleher :

" The Mrs. Kelleher was my Grandmother. All I know is that she was Secretary of Cumann Na mBan at some point. She never wanted to talk about it. She only ever related one story how she was target practice for the Black and Tans when she was out working in a field and they were on the other side of the tiny Valley between The Forge road and Lehenaghmore. But she was a tough Character. "

Friday, July 15, 2022

Townlands - 15/15 - Kilmurriheen

 Cill Mhuirithín - Murriheen's Church ( Wood? ) - 219 Acres

 

Kilmurriheen - ( Data from Townlands.ie )


Kilmurriheen - OSi Map 1927

Given that ,in common with other placenames in Togher , a mispronunciation and possible wrong spelling when finally committed to paper , the original meaning may perhaps be long lost. However , taking the root word Kil , this was often a misinterpretation of Coill or Wood and Mhuiritin was a relative root word of Murcadh which itself referred to Sea Warrior. Therefore , the original meaning may have been the Wood of the Sea Warrior. No evidence or record of a church exists in the annals for this Townland. And no historical evidence in support of a Murchadh or any related name exists for this Townland. Therefore the exact original designation of the Townland is inconclusive.

 

Liberty Bridge & Neff's house


Peggy's Cross

The 1911 Census shows 2 families resident in the Townland ; Buttimer ( see photo below ) and Busteed. Is is primarily farmland with a run of private dwellings. It is home to the now disused dog track known as Carroll's Field. It also has a benchmarked water feature in Liberty Bridge in front of Neff's Cottage under which flows the Liberty Stream ( not to be confused with the Liberty Stream which flows under Corcoran's Bridge ). Spur Hill is the main and only route through the Townland and terminates at Peggy's Cross ( a.k.a. Peggity's Cross ). Its Western boundary is marked by the Waterfall Road ( where the present day Garage is and O'Connell's Cottage ) and its northwestern boundary is marked by the Liberty Stream which joins up with the Glasheen River which flows through Morrison's Ravine which acts as its Northern Border. The Townland was part of Iniskenny Civil Parish in the 19th Century and today forms part of Ballinhassig R.C. Parish though very much identified with the district of Togher.


Buttimer Family , Ballinaboy , Ballinhassig Parish


O'Connell's cottage and Garage , Bandon Road

Addresses ( Modern Era )

Spur Hill
Farmland
*Research Ongoing...

Addresses/Structures ( Historical Era )

Spur Hill
Peggy's Cross
Crow's Cross
Liberty Bridge
O'Connell's Cottage
Carroll's Field

Boundary

Starting at a point on Spur Hill south of Knockalisheen House and moving down to Liberty Bridge before turning east below the Fort Field cross country before moving south and then west back towards Peggy's Cross where it moves downhill to Crow's Cross before moving north along the Waterfall Road and meeting the Liberty Stream as it joins the Glasheen River. Then eastwards back up through the old dried up tributary of the Glasheen River to below Knockalisheen House.

Thursday, June 9, 2022

Townlands - 14/15 - Knockalisheen

 Cnoc an Lisín - Hill of the Little Fort - 226 Acres

Knockalisheen - ( Data from Townlands.ie )

In 1586 the Townland is listed as Knocknyleyshyne. The " small fort " in the title was alluded to by a patch of land known as the " Fort Field ". Extensive agriculture has all but obliterated this ancient dwelling. One of only two to have been specifically identified in Togher though there may be more. The 1911 Census identifies an Alexander Morrison , a Presbyterian bachelor who lived with his sister Margaret. Evidently , the heavy vegetation and incline through which the Glasheen River flows bears his name , Morrison's Ravine. Other families present in the Townland at that time were the Leahys , Bohanes and Coakleys.

Remains of Water Pump at Lios Cross


Glasheen River approaching Morrisons Ravine


Knockalisheen is an agricultural hinterland of Togher which is bisected by the Glasheen River. It also has one of only two remnants of water pumps left in Togher , albeit with no pump and just the concrete platform remaining at Lios Cross. Internal names include the aforementioned Morrison's Ravine and Lios Cross a.k.a. Crossnacroha which it shares with 2 other townlands , Doughcloyne and Knocknamallavoge. The townland is also well known for breeding holstein cattle as shown in the beautiful " Togher Holsteins " sign shown below.

Holstein farm proudly displaying its location

Addresses ( Modern Era )

Lios Cross
Spur Hill

Addresses/Structures ( Historical Era )

**Research Ongoing...

Water Pump ( Lios Cross )
Lios Cross a.k.a. Crossnacroha
Spur Hill
Morrisons Ravine
Glasheen River

Boundary ( Shown in red on aerial map )

Starting at Lios Cross and moving down the right side of Spur Hill to the bridge under which the Glasheen River flows ; than following the Glasheen River through Morrison's Ravine where it is joined by another stream before meandering its way back up to Spur Hill before turning before Liberty Bridge and through the farm cross country to join up with the left side of Spur Hill all the way back to Lios Cross at the point started from.

Knockalisheen - Aerial Map

Thursday, May 12, 2022

Townlands - 13/15 - Knocknamallavoge

Cnoc na Mealbhóg - Hill of the Leather Bag - 181 Acres

Knocknamallavoge - 19th Century Map

In 1301 it is known as Cnokkenemalevok. Quite how it acquired its leather bag title is a mystery and lost to the mists of time. Perhaps most famous for being the site of a castle about which nothing is known of or its inhabitants. 19th Century maps simply refer to it as " in ruins " or " site of " meaning it may have been demolished long before then. Following the Cromwellian Confiscations of the 1650s the Townland came under the ownership of the Piggotts. The Tithe Applotment Books of 1823-37 show Regan and Duneen as principal residents. The 1911 Census shows the Corcoran and Coakley families as residents of the Townland. Ordnance Survey of 19th Century alters the northern boundary and aligns it with the top half of Mahers Lane. The blog will refer back to the original boundary as de facto.


19th Century OSi Map
showing site of Castle




1911 Census - Corcoran family

The 1911 Census as shown above relates to one family in Knocknamallavoge - the Corcorans. Michael Corcoran is 60 while his wife Julia is only 36 and both speak Irish and English. Interestingly their children Denis aged 5 and Margaret aged 3 were born in America , so it would seem likely Michael made his fortune in the U.S. , met his future wife while there who was also an immigrant and came back to Ireland to purchase land to raise his new family.


Tithe Applotment Book 1823-37
Regan and Duneen residents


The townland is predominantly agricultural with the Glasheen River acting as its natural southern and western boundary with a narrow internal stream emanating from a spring which flows out of the Townland to neighboring Chetwynd to join up with the Glasheen River. Part of its eastern boundary mates with Lios Cross ( where Toghers 2nd only remnant of water pumps - platform only - is sited nearby on the Knockalisheen boundary ).

Addresses ( Modern Era )


**Research Ongoing


Addresses/Structures ( Historical Era )


Castle
Viaduct View ( Farm )
Morrisons

Lios Cross


Boundary

Starting at a point on Spur Hill adjacent to the Ring Fort and moving south to take the right turn at Lios Cross near the old water pump platform and onwards to the stile gate at Morrisons Ravine. Following the Glasheen River down towards Waterfall and following the course of the Glasheen River as it flows northwards on the right side of the Bandon Road to turn at a point adjacent to the Ring Fort and cross country in a straight line to the point started on Spur Hill.

Knocknamallavoge - Aerial Map


Saturday, April 16, 2022

The Hegartys of The Laurels - Official Book Launch - April 7th 2022

The Hegartys Of The Laurels book cover


Jim , Anne , Pauline , Eileen & Jack Hegarty
outside The Laurels 2022


On Thursday evening on April 7th 2022 , the Official book launch of " The Hegartys of The Laurels " by Jim Hegarty took place at Cork City Library on the Grand Parade. By personal invitation of Jim Hegarty , the Togher Historical Association turned up to archive the entire event. A great turnout by Togher was very much in evidence as Tidy Towns and Community Association also gave their support. Following is a fantastic showcase of photos and videos of the nights proceedings.


Act 1 Military re-enactment members
 
 
Visitors to the event were treated to an extravaganza of War Of Independence memorabilia from the front door to the main hall. Members of Act 1 reenacted Irish Citizen Army soldiers ( with their trademark Slouch hat and white linen kit bag ) and Irish Volunteers sporting bandoliers ( shown above ). The foyer was laid out with enclosed glass cabinet displays detailing the archives of John Joe Hegarty and his two sisters Mamie Forde and Nan Fennell including a display dedicated to Joe Murphy who served under John Joe Hegarty in H Company.


Book launch stand at entrance to foyer
 
 
Display showing John Joe Hegarty's memoribilia
and the uniform he would have worn while in action
 


John Joe Hegarty's medals and awards
 
 
Mamie Fordes display showing her Wedding Dress
worn in the Lough Church in 1920

 

Mamie Fordes marriage certificate 
and photo showing her sister Nan as bridesmaid
 
 
Joe Murphy's display cabinet
 

The main hall of the Library was given over to the evenings event with a stall serving refreshments to the right and a table laden with the new books for sale to those present. The left side of the room was decked out with seating for members of the Hegarty clan and invited members of the public. Facing this was the speaking podium with banner stands in the background showcasing Togher Tidy Towns , The Hegartys of The Laurels and Togher Historical Association. Before the evening started , Billy O'Brien and Kathleen O'Keeffe touched base with Jim and his sisters Ann and Pauline. Fergal O'Connor of Togher Tidy Towns also touched base to discuss ongoing projects which the Historical Association are involved in. These include plans to build a replica well near Togher Cross and the recent developments around a Peace Park dedicated to the Hegarty sisters in Clashduv Park.


The Hegartys of The Laurels book stand

 
Adam Duggan and Act 1 Military procession
with Lord Mayor & Jim Hegarty


The hall was soon packed out and the event commenced with Adam Duggan piping in the Volunteer actors followed by Lord Mayor Colm Kelleher and Jim Hegarty. Lord Mayor Colm Kelleher gave the opening speech remarking on the huge turnout despite the event not being publicised. Jim Hegarty then gave his introductory speech on the background to the book and his Father and Aunts involvement in the War of Independence and Civil War. Togher Historical Association made a special presentation of a placue to Jim Hegarty in honour of his Father , John Joe Hegarty ( see below ). The event closed with photoshoots which saw everybody from former T.D.s and Lords Mayor ( John Dennehy - Togher's only Lord Mayor to date ) to the Bishop of Cork! Such was the importance placed on this event , that the Togher Community Association cancelled their meeting to attend the book launch. All relations of the Hegarty , Forde and Fennel clan were present to celebrate their families legacy and lineage.

 
Lord Mayor Colm Kelleher opening speech


Jim Hegarty speech at City Library
 
 
Kathleen O'Keeffe - Togher Historical Association
with Anne O'Driscoll ( nee Hegarty )

 

Jim Hegarty , Lord Mayor Colm Kelleher & Bishop Buckley
 
 
Placue presentation by Togher Historical Association

 
Jim Hegarty's family with Bishop Buckley 
and Lord Mayor Colm Kelleher


Members of Forde and Fennell family 
with former Lord Mayor John Dennehy seated centre


Lord Mayor Colm Kelleher , Kathleen O'Keeffe & Billy O'Brien
 - Togher Historical Association , Fergal Dennhey
 -  Togher Community Association & Jim Hegarty


Gus Fennell ( Nan Fennell's son ) 
& Jack Hegarty ( John Joe Hegarty's son )
 
 
Shirley Kelleher ( Joe Murphy's grand niece ) & Jim Hegarty


Jim Hegarty & Helen Van Lakem ( nee Carroll )
Andalucia , Spain 13th May 2022



Eileen , Pauline , Lord Mayor Colm Kelleher , 
Jim , Jack & Anne at Book Launch