On 25th September 2021 , Togher Historical Association traveled to the Townland of Kilmurriheen to meet with local Oran O'Connell to learn about the local history of Togher's southernmost region. Lying in the R.C. Parish of Ballinhassig , the area nonetheless identifies as Togher with provenance being provided by the natives of the Townland. Kilmurriheen has one short through road which begins at Liberty Bridge and ends at Peggitty's Cross. The land stretches on one side right down to the Bandon Road ( just after Maxol garage ) and on the other to Knockalisheen. The group began their journey with Oran acting as guide throughout at Liberty Bridge which is listed on old OSi maps and one of the few named bridges in the Togher district as a whole. The stream which also takes the name of Liberty ( not to be confused with the Liberty stream which flows under Corcoran's Bridge ) rises not far from the bridge and flows under a specially constructed arched brick wall adjoined to the residence of the Neff family.
Ardmanning More ~ Ardmanning Beg ~ Clashduff ~ Killeenreendowney ~ Deanrock ~ Freagh & Vicars Acre ~ Doughcloyne ~ Garranedarragh ~ Lehenagh More ~ Lehenagh Beg ~ Gortagoulane ~ Chetwynd ~ Knocknamallavoge ~ Knockalisheen ~ Kilmurriheen
Saturday, September 25, 2021
32nd Fieldwork Trip - 25th September 2021 - Kilmurriheen & Togher Culvert
Saturday, August 14, 2021
Townlands - 08 / 15 - Lehenagh More
Leitheanach Mór - Wide Open Space - 1025 Acres
a.k.a. Big Meadow
Coming in at well over a 1000 acres , Lehenaghmore is by far the largest of all the Townlands in Togher. Like its smaller sibling , Lehenagh Beg , its name is a convolution of misspelling and guesswork based on an incorrect anglization of the original Irish. Suffice it to say , it like its neighbour Lehenagh Beg , is a meadow , albeit , a larger variety. Historically , the Townland was owned by Milo de Cogan in 1177. By
the time of the Cromwellian Confiscations of 1656 it was in the hands of
George Gould ; following confiscation it passed to James Duke of York. In modern times , the Townland is most famous for being home to Cork Airport. It is also at 547ft the highest point in Togher and overlays a gigantic aquifer which feeds multiple streams issuing in all directions , the better known being the Glenmore , Liberty and Glasheen streams.
Historical interior names included Cumar na dTrí na nUisce ( the meeting of the three waters ) , three springs which go to form the Liberty stream a.k.a. Togher stream which flows under Corcorans Bridge and down to Togher Cross ; Cros na Gol ( the place of skulls ) , which was situated at the junction of Mathews Hill and Lehenaghmore Hill and from where funerals were followed on foot to the old graveyard below. It is believed an old Norman church existed next to the graveyard. Following development in later years cut limestone blocks were found but sadly removed from the site. During the Penal Laws of the 18th and 19th Centuries it was also known as Cros na Scoil owing to a hedge school being located there ; and Kilmahonach ( market town ) which during the 12th and 13th Centuries acted as a place of commerce before entering the City and which even minted its own coins. Big house names and lodges included Lehenaghmore House , Lehenagh House ( home of the brother of Fr. Mathew - see photo below ) ; Cruiskeen Lodge , Carrig Lodge , Cúl Álainn ( Coolallen ) and the Teampaleen ( an old graveyard adjacent to Norman church ). The Cork Bandon railway line once ran through the Townland with only a sole remaining bridge as a testament to its past. Agricultural land is now sandwiched between the built up region of the North and the Airport to the South. The section of road between Togher Cross and the old railway bridge has also been the educational hub of Togher since 1851 with the old cottage school ( demolished 1990s ) and the now Togher Community Centre ( Boys/Girls school 1891 - 1971 ) , Togher Girls School 1961 ( now Foróige/Togher A.C. ) and Togher Boys and Girls schools ( opened 1971 ). An honourable mention must be made of the Muintir na Tire who provided sterling support to the local community for many years. It was also during the 1980s home to the Doughcloyne Inn later Hotel ( now O'Connell Court retirement home ). Before the advent of dancehalls in the 1960s , platform dancing was a feature of Togher , and Togher Cross was the usual location for this form of entertainment. So from ancient medieval towns to old churches and graveyards and numerous schools , Lehenaghmore can lay claim to all. One other ghost from the past occupies the eastern side of Woulfe Lane and that is the remains of the Cottages and carriage houses of the old Lehenagh House which although thankfully still extant are in a ruinous state.
Addresses ( Modern Era )
Togher Community Centre
Togher National Schools
Togher R.C. Church
Robinscourt ( portion of )
O'Connell Court Retirement Home
Whytes Centra
Togher Cross
Greenwood Estate
Palmbury Estate
Palmbury Orchard
Applegreen Service Station
VariousPrivate builds along Togher Road
Lehenaghmore Industrial Estate
Ashbrook Heights
Aisling Close
Alderbrook
Fernwood Crescent
Chestnut Drive
Lehenaghmore Park
East Avenue
West Avenue
The Mews
Laurel Lane
Brook Lane
Westgate Business Park
Various private builds along Mathew Hill
Manor Road
Saint Ambrose
The Gates
The Drive
The Lawn
Hill Lane
North Avenue
South Avenue
Ardross
Wolfe Avenue
Cookellure Lawn
Cookellure Rise
Cookellure Way
Cookellure Lane
Cookellure Grove
Cookellure Avenue
Cookellure Road
The Hamlet
Ardcahon Drive
Ardcahon Close
Ardcahon Way
Corcorans Bridge
Various private builds up towards bridge ( see map )
Redmonds G.A.A. club
Everton F.C. club
Marion House
Cork Airport ( including Terminals and majority of runways )
Farmers Cross
Old Kinsale Road ( loop portion over bridge )
Carrig Lodge Road
Pegasus Sculpture ( off Airport Road )
Addresses/Structures ( Historical Era )
Lehenagh House ( demolished )
All houses on Airport land ( demolished 1960s )
Corcorans Bridge ( still extant )
Teampaleen ( demolished late 1970s )
Kilmahonoch ( medieval market town )
Farmers Cross ( now roundabout to Airport )
Cros na Gol/Cros na Scoil ( Place of Skulls/hedge school )
Old Cottage School ( Demolished 1990s )
Muintir na Tire ( Demolished late 1980s )
Army Pill Box ( Demolished 1980s )
Platform Dancing ( primarily located at Togher Cross )
Woulfe Lane
Boundary
From a point begun approximately at the halfway point to the rear of Westside Estate and moving in an easterly direction and following the Tramore River before moving in a southerly direction around Greenwood Estate and Palmbury and around the Industrial Estate before crossing the road at the corner of O'Neills cottage and following a straight line eastwards before wrapping around Coolkellure and moving towards the rear of Lehenaghmore Park before joining the Glenmore River and moving again southwards before moving onto the Kinsale Road before doubling back onto the Lehenagh Ridge and the stream which rises there and then moving in a zigzag motion across the runway of Cork Airport before moving north around the apron and joining up with the Liberty Stream and following this watercourse down to Togher Cross before moving around Togher Cross and to the rear of the Church and Schools to join up once more at the point started from near Westside Estate.
Friday, July 16, 2021
Townlands - 07 / 15 - Lehenagh Beg
Leitheanach Beag - Wide Open Space - 121 Acres
a.k.a. Small Meadow
The problem with the naming convention of many Townlands in Togher and indeed their possible original Irish meaning is the phonetical spelling at the time of the Down Survey in 1656 and the separation of nearly 4 Centuries. Its actual meaning may be lost to history but locals from the last Century simply inferred that it like its bigger sibling was simply a meadow , albeit a smaller one. The Blog for simplicity's sake will use the Small Meadow and Big Meadow in describing the two Lehenagh Townlands. In 1301 it is known in the Irish Plea Rolls ( manuscripts kept by traveling Judges dealing with civil and criminal law cases during Medieval times ) as Lethnath ( so may have been part of its neighbour up until the early 17th Century when it may have been divided ) while the Down Survey of 1656 marks it as Lehenagh ; however in 1586 it was recorded as Lehennaghe and in 1706 as Leenagh but from the 1840s on it is standardized as Lehenaghbeg. Circa 1850s it becomes incorrectly Gaelicized as Leathanach Beag.
Lehenagh Beg relies on 2 natural features for much of its boundary ( see end of article ) - The Glenmore River serves as its Eastern border while the Tramore River acts as its Northern border. This meadowland is bisected by Matthews Hill at its northern extremity which begins at Pouladuff Crossroads and carries over one of Togher's last remaining railway bridges ( under which the Cork Bandon railway line once ran ) which is known locally as Lehenaghbeg bridge and features an extremely rare benchmark inscribed into a block of limestone ( see photo below ) . The Townland today is peppered with Industrial units but does still retain one or 2 old residences not least the O'Neill house which is characterized by its concrete patio fronting onto a sharp bend in the road. Another old structure though in a ruinous state is Hill Rest at the beginning of Matthews Hill which once overlooked the famous Celia's pub ( now long gone ). The Townland became part of the newly formed parish of Togher ( created by the Bishop of Cork ) in 1977 , coming from the old parish of St. Finbarrs West , like much of Togher , when that parish was formed in 1890. Hitherto it had been part of the old Civil Parish of St. Finbarrs. It has belonged to the Church of Ireland parish of Grange since 1838.
Manor Crescent
Farm Lawn
Brook Park
Brook Glen
Court Lawn East
Court Lawn West
Manor Road
Manor Village East
Manor Village West
Laharan Way
Laharan Green
Laharan East
Laharan West
Matthews Hill ( Various private builds )
Man made pond
Addresses/Structures ( Historical Era )
Gearys Farm ( formally Barretts Farm )( still present )
O'Neills cottage ( still present )
Lehenagh Beg railway bridge ( still present )
Hill Rest cottage ( derelict )
Tanning Yard ( demolished 1940s? )
Cork Bandon railway line ( removed )
Possible stone bridge behind Ideal Furniture store?
Pouladuff Crossroads
Boundary ( Shown in red on aerial photo )
From a point to the rear of Greenwood Estate following the Tramore River westwards to Pouladuff overpass and moving northwards down Pouladuff Road to Pouladuff Crossroads. Then following the Glenmore River northwards where it traverses the curvature of the field system on its right and then folllowing a line back and around Coolkellure to Matthews Hill before bypassing O'Neill cottage before moving cross-country to the rear of Palmbury and Greenwood Estate to meet at the point started from by the Tramore River.
Wednesday, June 9, 2021
Townlands - 06 / 15 - Deanrock
Carridiggainge - Sheltering Rock - 91 Acres
a.k.a. Deanrock ( see article below for more )
A natural rocky outcrop which was heavily quarried during the 19th Century and on which the current Deanrock Estate is sited.
Deanrock is unique amongst the Townlands of Togher in that it is the only Townland to have been rendered completely in English and also the only Townland to traverse the Togher Road. The Down Survey of 1656 - 1658 notes its name as Carridiggainge , an albeit corrupt interpretation of the original Irish which has been lost to the mists of time. However , scholars have declared that it can be deduced from the pronunciation that it could be loosely translated as Sheltering Rock. The term Dean Rock itself first came in to play circa 1841 following the reorganization of the Anglican Church in Ireland and was itself a corruption of the old Irish to fit a new narrative. The Tithe Applotment books of 1823-37 list the Townland as Carrigadranig so it proves that the renaming to Deanrock was relatively late in the Townlands history. The rocky outcrop such as it was in ancient times before being quarried lent its name to the entire Townland. ( It also had a nearby sibling in the form of the locally named " The Mountain " off Hazel Road. ) Due to heavy quarrying , the original rock formation was heavily depleted and by the 1940s , it was reduced to a series of bumps and hollows earning itself the famous name " The Heighties ". All that remains of this landmark following infilling by the landowner Hosford in the 1960s is " Devils Rock ".
Much of her old buildings were demolished following compulsory purchase order in 1967: The Kerry Yard ( a compound of stone buildings complete with duck pond ) , Hosfords bungalow , Clashduff House , Bannons house , a lodge which lead to the Clashduff house , Deanrock house and all surrounding cottages , Ardmanning cottages , demolished in 1971 , Togher railway bridge 1976 , The Cuttings 1970s/1980s , Murphys cottage , circa 1980s. Plus numerous smaller holdings and stone walls.
Deanrock today is home to a mixture of the modern and historical and
its ever changing landscape is testament to this. To date , 3
structures which were erected during the developments of the 1960s and
1970s have been demolished. Owenacurra Court , part of the N.B.A.
building scheme and built 1969 was finally demolished in 2007. 2
additional blocks of flats on Shournagh Lawn were also removed. Today
the once vacant site is home to Toghers newest Estate , Shournagh Grove.
Southside shopping centre and its anchor tenant Five Star which was
completed in 1970 was demolished circa 2005 and now is home to Lidl.
T.S.B. bank built late 1970s was demolished some years back and is now
the site of Abbeyville Veterinary practice. Deanrock Terrace has seen much of its original cottages depleted over the years resulting in an odd mixture of private builds giving the terrace a disjointed appearance.
Photo © Eddie O'Hare
Perhaps one of its most famous sons is the legendary Denis Irwin of Shournagh Lawn who played soccer for Manchester United and Republic of Ireland. A keen G.A.A. player in his early days he also excelled in chess. He attended Togher National School throughout the 1970s.
Addresses ( Modern Era )
Elm Road
Hazel Road ( Portion facing on to The Mountain )
Togher Road
( Corner of entrance to Sycamore Place to end of Overpass near Tramore River/Coffeys Field )
Rose Lawn
Clashduv Road ( Junction of Togher Road to Glasheen bridge )
Solas
Vicars Court
Vicars Road ( to end of Vicars Court )
Deanwood Avenue
Deanvale
Market Gardens
Clashduv Park ( portion of )
Abbeyville Veterinary Practice
Deanrock Avenue ( loop road )
Lough Credit Union
Shournagh Grove
Shournagh Lawn
Maglin Grove
Ilen Court
Blackwater Grove
Araglen Court
Leamlara Close
Owenabue Close
Argideen Lawn
Deanrock Terrace
Harley Wood
Deanrock Cottages
St. Finbarrs H&F Club
West Side Estate
Rock Bingo hall
Togher Overpass bridge
South Ring Road ( portion on western approach )
Addresses/Structures ( Historical Era )
The Mountain ( rocky outcrop off Hazel Road )
The Heighties ( Quarry - present day Deanrock Estate )
The Kerry Yard ( Demolished )
Hosfords House ( Demolished )
Ardmanning Cottages ( Demolished )
Carmelville* ( Listed building )
Summerstown Lane ( gone )
The Bog ( portion of )
Deanrock House ( Demolished )
O'Donnell's Lane ( gone )
Mannings House ( Demolished )
Mannings Lane ( now Barrs Lane though has other local names )
Caravan Park ( now Harleywood )
Abbeyville House *( Still remaining )
Murphys cottage ( Demolished )
McCarthys cottage* ( Still remaining )
The Cutting ( Demolished )
Togher Railway bridge ( Demolished )
Boundary ( Shown in red on aerial photo )
Beginning at a point left of Rose Lawn and continuing through the rear gardens of same to cross Vicars Road and move in a line to the rear of Deanwood Avenue and around Market Gardens to take in the houses to the left of Leaca Ban and across Togher Road to follow a line alongside Deanrock Terrace to the corner of Deanrock Cottages and diagonally across to the Togher Overpass bridge to its end before turning into West Side estate and moving around its rear gardens before following a semi circular line across the South Ring Road and across St. Finbarrs G.A.A. grounds before meeting the Glasheen River and following it all the way back to the footbridge before moving across Clashduv Park in a diagonal line before crossing Clashduv Road to the bottom of Elm Road and traversing Hazel Road to move through the rear gardens of Togher Square to meet up at the point to the left of Rose Lawn.
Wednesday, May 12, 2021
Townlands - 05 / 15 - Freagh & Vicars Acre
Vicars Acre - ( Appended Mid 18th Century - see article below )
Freagh & Vicars Acre , Togher
Tramore Road ( section of houses adjacent to Garda Stn. )
Togher Garda Station
South Cork Industrial Estate
U.C.C. Park & Ride ( former Youngline )
Casey's Cross
O'Sullivans
From a point at Joe Murphy house on Pouladuff Road moving in a southerly direction towards Casey's Cross and over Pouladuff Overpass to meet with the Tramore River following its course westwards before turning north across the South Ring Road and Tramore Road before moving through the rear gardens of Sheridan Park before skirting the filling station on Vicars Road and moving diagonally until it ends at the rear garden of Joe Murphy house on Pouladuff Road.
Sunday, April 25, 2021
Togher Number 14 Bus - est. October 1946
On the morning of October 14th 1946 at 7.30 a.m. , the sleepy village of Togher was rudely awakened from its slumber by the rattling of a green single Decker bus. This was the initial run of its very first public service route provided by C.I.E. and prompted the local saying " Stay in by the wall and mind the buses! " which has now gone into Cork folklore and legend as one of it's most famous quips. On that fateful day , the local populace were so enthralled , that they turned out in their droves at each stop to witness the next passing of " De Bus " with the number 14 boldly displayed above its cabin , to cheer on the driver and his conductor and to wish them well , whilst still others clambered on board to experience this new novelty in their neighbourhood. Back then , before all of the modern developments and new roads , the 14 would stop at Togher Cross for a break and the men would duly visit The Forge for a chat with the Blacksmith.
Over the course of the intervening decades , the service has greatly expanded , the fleet updated and upgraded but memories of langys and bus rolls will live on forever. Many Togher school children from the 1970s will remember when C.I.E. laid on a school run which consisted of a single decker and a double decker for the princely sum of 1 new pence and 2 new pence respectively. Today , the famous Number 14 has the prefix 2 added to it , but this does not detract from its special place in the hearts of locals and its integral role in the overall development of the district.
Peter O'Sullivan : " One important aspect of getting the bus late at night from "the
Statue" on Patrick Street. I can often recall as a child of the
1970s/1980s that if you needed a bus out of the city centre , the last
buses used all leave Patrick Street at about 11:25pm as part of a fleet
racing to reach their end destination one last time before each bus
would then return direct to the CIE Capwell Garage to park-up overnight.
Back in those days the CIE bus staff used report to a cabin located
near the statue that was previously the Firemen's Hut! A manager would
be there in uniform including cap and would blow a whistle loudly at
about 11:25pm every single night which was a signal for all buses to
set-off on their final journey destination of the day which was Togher
in our case! If folk were out late at a show in town and had intended on
getting the very last bus home, you had to be there on time as they did
not wait once the whistle was blown outside the Fireman's Hut. It was
quite a sight to witness all the buses on parade late at night as the
streets and pavements would be generally quiet at that hour.
Sunday, April 18, 2021
31st Fieldwork Trip - 17th April 2021- New Builds & Old Builds & Glasheen River
Togher Historical Association undertook its first Fieldwork Trip since November 2019. Due in large part to Covid-19 restrictions it was impossible to carry out any on the ground research for 2020 and much of 2021. However once the opportunity presented itself the group set out to have a closer look at the new Estates springing up in Togher with a nod and a wink towards those which have been here for many years.
& Kathleen O'Keeffe
First port of call was to the home of Councillor Thomas Moloney on Elm Road. Thomas has been instrumental in acquiring material for the Historical Association over the years from plans of older Estates to general information including road signage and much more. The Association would like to formally acknowledge his silent contribution to the research of local heritage and to his family for welcoming them into their home.
Next stop was to Togher's newest Estate , Shournagh Grove. Built on the site of the Old Owenacurra Court the buildings are quite modern with solar panels installed on the roofs of all builds. The new address loops around from Togher Road , Clashduv Road and back on itself to emerge onto Shournagh Lawn and back around onto the Togher Road. While admiring the new houses , it was also discovered to have an unusual feature in the form of a rock. It is not thought this is native and may have been specially fitted to enhance the landscape.
During the visit , the group paused to take in some of Togher's older places. Deanwood Avenue was built in 1964 and the old tree overlooks the entrance. Carmelville is one of Togher's very few listed buildings. And last but not least , Solas , Togher's only conical shaped residence.
The group then made its way over to Togher's newest construction , the as yet unnamed Estate off Sarsfield's Road. The former scrub-land has been completely transformed and work is well underway. The land itself has been deeply excavated with the result that the houses are below the surrounding road.
The team then made their way to the townland of Knockalisheen to capture some moments of the Glasheen River in full flow as it descends from the Airport and passes under a bridge and carries on through Morrisons Ravine towards Waterfall to begin its journey around Deanrock and on to the River Lee. Sadly a swivel gate which allows access to the Glasheen has now been cordoned off with warning signs and CCTV camera mounted on a tree.
The group then made its way to the former home of an as yet unnamed family. Sadly the old building is badly dilapidated and its grounds are extremely overgrown though the locked gate looks new. A million memories have tragically been returned to nature. It is not known what future lies in store for this place which once was full of life.
The whistle-stop tour concluded with visits to four separate houses dotted around the region. First up was Marian House which was radically altered in 1954 and renamed to coincide with the religious festival. Next was a flyby of the home of the Walsh's , whose family were involved in the War Of Independence , a fleeting glimpse of the former labourer's cottage once the home of Mossie Sexton ; and lastly a visit to Ardan Mhuire which over the years has been home to Nuns. It is planned to present articles on each house in more detail for the blog very soon.
















































