Tuesday, July 10, 2018

The Walsh Family - The Cutting


Billy O'Brien & Mary Walsh July 2018


On Tuesday evening 10th July 2018 at 7 O'Clock , the Togher Historical Association paid a visit to the home of Ann O'Callaghan Keating in Ballincollig. Billy O'Brien and Kathleen O'Keeffe were there to interview Mary Walsh , Ann's Aunt , about her memories of her life in The Cutting. The opportunity also presented itself to speak with Ann about her Mother , Eileen and her time in the now gone community that laughed , loved and played there for so long before the 1970s and the subsequent demolition of the Railway Bridge and the Cutting itself.


Michael Snr , Wife Margaret ,
 Tommy , twins Michael Jnr. & Billy


The Walsh Family story began strangely enough not in Togher but in Saskatoon , Canada when newly weds Michael Walsh ( born 1898 ) and his wife Margaret ( born 1908 ) emigrated to start a new life in the mid 1920s. Margaret came from Strabane , Co. Tyrone and her marriage to Michael who originally hailed from Pouladuff was a major scandal at the time because of her Protestant faith! Their first three children , all boys , Tommy and twins Michael Jnr. & Billy were born in Canada. The image above shows a passport photograph supposedly taken to identify the Family on their departure from Canada to Ireland in the late 1930s. Here the Togher association begins with the Walsh's moving to The Cuttings and renting the cottage for Half a Crown from the Marshall's which was situated to the left of the house. Michael Snr. soon found work in Dunlops where he worked for 35 years until his retirement. The arrival of three more children ; Eileen in 1938 , John in 1945 and Mary in 1947 completed the Family unit. It is well known that Michael Snr. referred to the local Gardai as " the  Sheriffs " possibly because of his Canadian past. He himself was known as the " Captain ".


Togher Rovers 1948 - Jimmy Walsh ( bottom right )
( Photo supplied by Dan O'Riordan )


All children attended Togher National School. The boys were very involved in sports with Tommy playing for Togher Rovers in 1947. Mary describes her childhood in Togher as magical and a wonderful place in which to grow up. She recalls many characters in the area , all of whom had a nickname. One such person was known as the Quilter who seemed to have a cure for every ailment. One funny anecdote revolves around a popular cleaning liquid by the name of B-Spray. Whenever anybody asked for this product in the local shop , the conversation always ended the same way: " Can a B-Spray " - " Can a wasp fart? ". Togher wit at its best! Eldest son Tommy was encouraged at the tender age of 14 by his Mother to travel to England in search of work with his brothers Michael Jnr. and Billy following soon after. Tommy soon became successful so much so that future Togher men traveling over to England would seek out employment with his company , none of which he refused.


Brother & Sister
Michael Walsh & Eileen Walsh


Michael Jnr. , Mother Margaret ,
Mary and John


Tommy aged 14 in England


Mother Margaret & Mary outside their home


Weekly Tenant's Rent books from 1951 and 1961


Inside view of amounts paid in rent


Additional pages of Rent Book


Unknown youths at Togher Cross


Mary Walsh attended Togher National School from 1951 to 1964 where she recalls children had to attend school up to the age of 14 so she and others stayed an extra year in 6th Class to qualify them to leave. She proudly stated that she received her first kiss at the tender age of 12. After leaving school she soon found work cleaning local houses more often than not for free as she simply had a passion for the job. In 1974 Mary was married in Togher Church before moving to start a new life in Kinsale.


Tommy & Mary Walsh


Michael Snr. , daughter Mary , sons Michael and John


Michael ( Brother ) and Mary Walsh
outside home in The Cuttings


Mary Walsh & Anthony O'Brien 
during electrification scheme 1950s
( Photo supplied by Helena Cogan )


Tommy and Michael Jnr. in England


Togher National School circa 1950s
John Walsh bottom left


Michael Walsh snr. ( on right ) outside Celias Pub early 1960s


Mary's eldest sister Eileen Walsh moved to Patrick O'Donoghue Place in 1961 and soon after her Daughter , Ann was born. Ann herself went to Togher Girl's National School from 1968 to 1976. In 1972 she was transferred to the new Girls School across the road. Ann became the first Paper Girl when she began work for Dawson's newsagents in Ballyphehane in 1975! She also worked for a time at the local Post Office on Togher Road during 4th Year. Ann O'Callaghan also went on to work in Fitzgerald’s Bakery for 17 years , where she met her future husband Ger Keating who grew up in Argideen Lawn.


 Eileen Walsh in shortcut to Cottage


Eileen Walsh as seen today


 Ann's Communion class Old Girls School 1971


Ann and fellow class mates Old Girls School 1970s
with Mrs. Breen


Ann's Confirmation class New Girl's School 1975


Eileen & Ann O'Callaghan Keating
Patrick O'Donaghue Place , Togher



The Blog would like to thank most sincerely Ann O'Callaghan Keating for her warm hospitality and for arranging the meeting with her Aunt , Mary Walsh. A very pleasant evening and many wonderful memories shared which will last a lifetime. The Cutting may be gone but its memory has a permanent home on this blog.


Mary Walsh , Ann O'Callaghan Keating & Kathleen O'Keeffe

Monday, June 25, 2018

26th Fieldwork Trip - 16th June 2018 - Chetwynd , Doughcloyne & Lehenaghmore

On Saturday afternoon on June 6th 2018 , the Togher Historical Association undertook its 26th Fieldwork Trip to date. The plan was to visit some of Togher's eateries and also visit some of her more iconic locations. First stop was to the site of the former Chetwynd House off Meagher's Lane. Acting on information from the Togher Facebook page concerning its demolition , the group decided to investigate the location. Sadly what greeted them was proof positive that the centuries old structure was indeed now gone , in its place a heap of rubble to make way for a garden extension. This coupled with the former Phillipine House off Doughcloyne Hill saw two of Togher's oldest buildings erased forever within months of each other.


 Initial view of demolished Chetwynd House


 Outbuildings which formed courtyard with House


 Remains of Chetwynd House showing new build


Outbuilding at end of Meagher's Lane


Site of former Chetwynd House , Meaghers Lane


Next stop for the group was the site of the former Phillipine House now completely upgraded to the Fellowship House complex which is devoted to assisting those suffering with addiction. A brand new metal gate with the " Fellowship House " title cut into its frame guards the way to the site. Aside from some ancillary buildings constructed by AnCO in 1985 , everything else is newly constructed including an exact replica of the old Phillipine House. The old orchard walls have been pared back and its grounds excavated to house several buildings. This was a unique opportunity to photograph the grounds while still unoccupied.


Newly landscaped and tarmacced 
entrance lane to Fellowship House


New titular entrance gates to Fellowship House


 Replica build of Phillipine House


 Additional structure with titular signage on paneled facia


Angled view of new Phillipine House


 New ancillary buildings in old Orchard grounds


Front view of replica of iconic building


Upgraded Fellowship House off Doughcloyne Hill 


The group next headed for Applegreen on Togher Road to hand deliver a copy of the original placue for the old cottage school which was once sited at that location and which was damaged during construction of the garage. The proprietors of Applegreen are to shortly commission a replacement. Below can be seen an archive photograph of the original placue which hopefully will be reinstated soon.



Photograph of old cottage school placue



The group next made their to the gully by the Airport where the Glenmore River rises. The reason was to gauge the practicalities of attempting a climb down its ravine to video the area in question. Unfortunately it was deemed impossible given the dangerous overgrowth and the cordoning off of the location due to a private build which is in progress to its immediate left which will include a house , driveway and water treatment plant. It is planned to hopefully negotiate with the new owners in the future for a possible trip into the gully. A few of the blocks making up the hidden bridge under which the Glenmore River flows could be seen to have been dislodged. While there , a fun blast from the past presented itself in the form of a long trailing plant known to many Togher children as " stickybacks ". The name derived from the plants ability to quite literally stick to garments. The actual name of the plant is Cleaver and it is both a medicinal herb and an edible food used in salads.



 Stone Bridge all but hidden by overgrowth


 View of river concealed by heavy foliage


 Alternate view of bridge showing dislodged stones


Cleavers or Stickybacks growing near gully


Billy O'Brien posing with Stickybacks


The group next made its way to Stalks & Stems florist and Mad Hatters Cafe on Tramore Road but regrettably found the shop to be closing trade for the day. It is hoped to make a return visit again at an earlier time. It was decided to stop off for coffee at the Viaduct Bar and take in the ambience which included the famous viaduct of the same name and the wonderful Glasheen River which flows alongside.



Chetwynd Viaduct as seen from Viaduct Bar


Glasheen River showing culvert and rubble banks


Chetwynd Viaduct as seen from the Glasheen River


Frontal signage of Viaduct Bar & Restaurant


Scenic beer garden outside Viaduct Bar



Glasheen River near Viaduct Bar/Chetwynd Viaduct


The Fieldwork Trip concluded with a brief look at the now cleared site of the former Allan home on Doughcloyne Hill before viewing one of Togher's newest signs erected by Tidy Towns in the grounds of the Funeral Home on Sarsfield Road. Previously the sign had been removed but has since been reinstated and adds to the beautiful ambience of Togher.


Cleared site of former Allan House


Togher Tidy Towns sign outside Funeral Home

Saturday, June 9, 2018

25th Fieldwork Trip - 9th June 2018 - New Fellowship House & Deanrock Site

On Saturday June 9th 2018 , Eamonn Pearse and Eamonn Twomey of the Togher Historical Association undertook the 25th Fieldwork Trip to date , by visiting the new Fellowship House complex at Doughcloyne Hill. The entire site had been upgraded to a high standard with the former Phillipine House being rebuilt as an exact replica. The old enclosed orchard had been completely leveled with the front wall removed and partially re-stoned. The site also boasted a new gateway entrance which added to the overall ambience. Eamonn Pearse photographed key areas within the location and also videod the various new builds.


 Gateway with new signage at entrance


 New builds with titular signage above wooden facia


 Replica of old Phillipine House with extensions


Close up of new Phillipine House with arched doorway


 Ancillary offices and outbuildings


 Rear view of new Phillipine House from courtyard


 Alternate view of new Phillipine House


Various outbuildings and courtyard


 Close up view of new builds


 Interior view of new builds inside orchard grounds


View of side exit from old orchard


Video of new Fellowship House site


Whilst the Fieldwork Trip was mostly concerned with the new Fellowship House complex , a quick visit was also made to the Deanrock site on Togher Road to view the progress of the newly named Shournagh Grove. It is envisaged that work will now be proceeding ahead in the very near future to complete Togher's newest estate.


Panoramic view of Deanrock site showing work in progress

Tuesday, May 29, 2018

Togher , A Brief History - Book Launch

In 1998 a very special book was launched in the Doughcloyne Hotel. Entitled " Togher , A Brief History " , it was the first published book dealing exclusively with local Togher history. The cumulative efforts of Tom O'Keeffe and his Wife - Kathleen , who was herself a local Togher woman whose family can be traced back to the 19th Century resulted in this now much sought after book. Kathleen recalls how she and Tom would go cross country in search of old buildings and ruins all in an effort to gather as much information as they could. Tom would often spend hours in the County library trying to find anything related to the locality. What must be remembered nowadays is that despite the absence of Internet and Social Media which is commonplace today , the book is all the more fascinating in that it contains so much detail , an indication of the sheer amount of work which went into its making. The comb bound manuscript was sold for the princely sum of £5.99 and is now a collectors piece.





Although not a complete work in itself , it inspired many others to pursue further research and resulted in the formation of the Togher Historical Association many years later and this very Blog which carries on the work with the help of Kathleen O'Keeffe. The newspaper clipping below shows Tom and Kathleen with their children at the launch of the book in 1998 at the Doughcloyne Hotel.



Tom & Kathleen O'Keeffe with their family


Many local dignitaries turned up for this special occasion , including Kathleen's relative - the renowned bowler - Mick Barry - whose Wife , Betty Roche , was her Father's sister. Also present on the night was Principal of the Boys School - Flor Dullea and teachers Ted & Eilish O'Sullivan. Kathleen's cousin Professor Padraig O Rian gave a speech at the event during which he told the audience that he used to spend many hours with Jimmy Roche listening to his stories about Togher. John Russell acted as M.C. for the launch. Also present was former Lord Mayor , John Dennehy and Toddy O'Sullivan. Mrs. Martin of the Muintir na Tire also attended. A huge crowd thronged the hotel that night and all copies were signed. John O'Mahoney of Deanwood Avenue was the photographer on the night.


 Mick Barry , Tom O'Keeffe & Flor Dullea


Tom O'Keeffe himself was inspired to write a second more professional book a few years later entitled " Togher , Past And Present " which is still available in bookshops. It is also known that Tom recorded many local personalities interviews and they are now archived on cassette tape. A fascinating insight into a Togher which has now gone forever but which can be relived through its pages every time.


Review of first published book on Togher